Seafood Capital of Scotland

 

Category List


Archive

Tag Cloud



 

Tying the Scot in Oban & Lorn

Jan 13, 2020

Visitors from across the world flock to Oban's and Lorn's shores, castles and mountaintops to tie the knot. On average, 20 per cent of weddings held in Scotland every year are between non-residents, and it's easy to get married here with a surfeit of stunning venues and the helpful staff at Argyll & Bute Council.
 
 
From small family gatherings to weddings with a couple of hundred family and friends, Oban and Lorn is fortunate enough to have venues and facilities to suit all.

micheile-henderson-406428-unsplash.jpg
 
The stunning scenery, loved and recalled by many for its romantic nature, draws a variety of people from many different cultures and countries from around the world to choose the West Coast of Scotland for their wedding day or even their honeymoon destination.
 
Celebrate your love with wedding trends such as “retromony – to absent friends” which sees couples coming to Scotland to marry as a nod to their Scottish ancestry with Scottish themes and touches like thistles, tartan, whisky and ceilidhs. Some grooms with no Scottish roots still choose to don a kilt when getting married here!

You'll find some useful contact information below:

Oban Registry Office - 01631 567930

Here is a list of Churches in Oban.

Click here to see a variety of Accommodation options in and around Oban. 

Check out some wedding venues:

Oban Registration Office fiona.dickie@argyll-bute.gov.uk 01546 605521 (Option 7) www.argyll-bute.gov.uk
       
The Drury Enquiries@house-parties.co.uk 01242 285755 www.house-parties.com/holiday-homes/drury/
Airds Hotel airds@airds-hotel.com 01631 730236 www.airds-hotel.com
Brander Lodge Hotel info@branderlodge.com 01866 822243 www.branderlodge.com
Ardanaiseig Hotel hello@ardanaiseig.com 01866 833333 www.ardanaiseig.com
Corran Halls corranhalls@liveargyll.gov.uk 01631 567333 www.liveargyll.gov.uk
Loch Awe Boathouse enquires@unique-cottages.co.uk 01835 822277 www.unique-cottages.co.uk/cottages/west-coast/argyll-isles/aa4-achnacarron-boathouse
Pierhouse Hotel reservations@pierhousehotel.co.uk 01631 730302 www.pierhousehotel.co.uk
Seil Island Community Hall jes.janetscott@btinternet.com 01852 300483 www.seilhall.org.uk
Taychreggan Hotel info@taychregganhotel.co.uk 01866 833211 www.taychregganhotel.co.uk
Western Isles Hotel mull.reservations@bespoke-hotels.com 01688 302012 www.bespokehotels.com/westernisleshotel
Calgary Farmhouse info@calgary.co.uk 01688 400256 www.calgary.co.uk
Tiroran House Hotel info@tiroran.com 01681 705232 www.tiroran.com
Argyll Hotel Iona reception@argyllhoteliona.co.uk 01681 700334 www.argyllhoteliona.co.uk
An Talla Community Hall tireecommunitybusiness@btconnect.com 01879 220520 www.antalla.com
Duart Castle weddings@duartcastle.com 01680 812309 www.duartcastle.com
Argyllshire Gathering Halls enquiries@argyllshiregathering.com 01631 569407 www.argyllshiregathering.com
Barcaldine Castle enquiries@barcaldinecastle.co.uk 01631 720598 www.barcaldinecastle.co.uk
Loch Melfort Hotel reception@lochmelfort.co.uk 01852 200233 www.lochmelfort.co.uk
The Manor House info@manorhouseoban.com 01631 562087 www.manorhouseoban.com
Royal Hotel salesroyaloban@strathmorehotels.com 01631 563021 www.booking.com/The-Royal-Hotel

Other Popular Wedding Venues around Oban

The View- Oban's premiere lively entertainment venue offers wedding packages in the heart of town overlooking the bay. Call 01631 569599 or email info@obanview.com

The Brander Lodge offers wedding and accommodation packages in the scenic Highlands. Call 01866 822243 or email: info@branderlodge.com

Start planning your dream wedding in Oban for memories you will cherish always.

 



Tags:
Category: Tourism

Tying the Scot in Oban & Lorn

13 January 2020 at 12:24



Category: Tourism

« Back to Blogs

Supported By Visit Scotland